It is Friday and that means there is a slew of new releases in all genres. Of course, we cover Metal, and I wanted to cover the new single release that has been stuck in my head the moment it hit my ears, “Beyond the Pale” by Machine Head.

Does it stack up to other Machine Head greats?

As a metal head, in the metal community, I often hear people striving for the “heaviest” music. For me, personally, I just look for whatever sounds good whether its Deicide in the Brutal Death Metal genre or something like BabyMetal of the Kawaii Metal genre.

So Robb Flynn of Machine Head was quoted as saying their upcoming release, Catharsis, won’t be their heaviest.

“Lower your expectations for the heaviness, lower your expectations for the speed. If The Blackening was us at our most thrashing and aggressive, this is probably the most melodic and the most grooving we’ve been. There’s little thrashy bits here and there and it’s heavy, but it is a very groovin’, rockin’ melodic record.”

I am all for bands trying something new and see if it works.

Well, it was Friday, and I launched Spotify to check out the new track “Beyond the Pale.”

I absolutely loved it. Yes, it may be more melodic than some of their more popular releases, but I think it stands up with most of their catalog and is one of their greatest. Very catchy, and it definitely deserves to be this Friday’s ear worm for you metal heads.

How to Listen and Preorder Machine Head’s “Catharsis”

You can check it on YouTube, add it to your Spotify playlist, or order it off of Amazon and many other streaming services.

Pre-order “Catharsis” album

Machine Head

See Machine Head Live

They’ve also announced a North American Tour as well.

Thu 25-Jan Phoenix, AZ – Nile Theater
Sat 27-Jan Albuquerque, NM – Sunshine Theater
Mon 29-Jan San Antonio, TX – Aztec Theater
Tue 30-Jan Dallas, TX – Gas Moneky Live!
Wed 31-Jan Houston,TX – HOB

Fri 02-Feb Birmingham, AL – Saturn
Sat 03-Feb Pensacola, FL – Vinyl MH
Mon 05-Feb Orlando, FL – Plaza Live
Tue 06-Feb Atlanta, GA – Centerstage
Thu 08-Feb Philadelphia, PA – Theatre of Living Arts
Fri 09-Feb New York, NY – Playstation
Sat 10-Feb Boston, MA – Paradise Rock Club
Sun 11-Feb Montreal, QC – Club Soda
Tue 13-Feb Toronto, ON – Danforth MH
Wed 14-Feb Buffalo, NY – Town Ballroom
Thu 15-Feb Pittsburgh, PA – Stage AE
Fri 16-Feb Cleveland, OH – Agora
Sat 17-Feb Detroit, MI – Majestic
Tue 20-Feb Des Moines, IA – Woolys
Wed 21-Feb Madison, WI – Majestic
Thu 22-Feb Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue
Fri 23-Feb Chicago, IL – Concord MH
Sat 24-Feb Saint Louis, MO – Pops
Tue 27-Feb Denver, CO – Summit MH

Thu 01-Mar Las Vegas, NV – HOB
Fri 02-Mar Los Angeles, CA – Fonda
Sat 03-Mar Oakland, CA – The Fox Theater
Mon 05-Mar Portland, OR – Roseland
Tue 06-Mar Vancouver, BC – Commodore
Wed 07-Mar Seattle, WA – Showbox Market